Congratulations to Year 9 students Matilda Anthony, Salina Re, Jack Bailey and Pascale Weeramanthri for being announced as WA Young Innovators of the Year at a very prestigious Gala Dinner at Frasers Restaurant on Wednesday night. Many of the attendees congratulated our students on their achievement, including the Minister for Water; Fisheries; Forestry; Innovation and ICT; Science, The Hon Dave Kelly, Nobel Prize Winner, Professor Barry Marshall and the previous WA Chief Scientist, Professor Lyn Beazley. It was a wonderful night and, besides the trophy, the students received $250 each plus marketing for their app.

A copy of the lovely thank you speech the students wrote and Matilda delivered is below:

"We would like to thank all of the people that helped make this a positive journey. Lainey Weiser, our mentor, thank you for loving each of our ideas, no matter what we think of them, and helping us make those ideas incredible. Mrs Atherton, our teacher, thank you for providing support throughout our whole journey and always believing in us. Thank you to our Principal, Mr Bothe, for being so supportive of the Gifted and Talented Program at Sacred Heart College. To our parents: thank you for hosting our meetings the day before pitches and stressing for us. Thank you to Paul Rowsthorn and Bibi Jellema who have offered support since the beginning. Thank you to Catholic Education Western Australia for providing funding for our mentoring and to all other businesses that have offered support for our innovation. We are honoured to be receiving this award, and congratulations to the other teams SkillBox and PlastiGo for creating amazing innovations. Thank you."

Tanya Atherton
Head of Gifted and Talented